Marquette Track and Field/Cross Country Announce 2022-23 Team Awards

MILWAUKEE – The Marquette University track and field and cross country teams held their annual banquet Sunday to announce the team awards winners from the previous seasons. Team awards were given out for the 2022-23 indoor track and field season, the 2023 outdoor track and field season, and this past fall’s 2023 cross country season.

MVP on the men’s track and field side went to Mitchell Van Vooren, who broke the 400m hurdles school record at the NCAA West Preliminaries. Most improved was given to Simon Werven, who earned All-BIG EAST in the decathlon at the outdoor championships.

Gus Kasun, who joined Weven as an All-BIG EAST honoree in the outdoor decathlon, was named most outstanding newcomer. Graduate student Harry Baker claimed the senior academic award.

MVP on the women’s track and field team went to Daylee Braden and Annika Bynum. Braden was All-BIG EAST in the 400m while Bynum claimed all conference honors in the high jump during the indoor and outdoor season. Veronica Walinski earned most improved after her All-BIG EAST performance in the outdoor shot put.

Most outstanding newcomer was given to Natalia Jackowski after a pair of runner-up finishes in the high jump at the UWW Drake Alternative and Tadd Metzger Invitational. Katie Dingle claimed the senior academic award.

The Melvin “Bus” Shimeck MVP for the men’s cross country season went to Dan Weizeorick, who led MU in three of the four races this fall. Comeback runner of the year was Tyler Re, who ran a personal best 10k to end the fall at the BIG EAST Championship.

Most outstanding freshman was given to Nick Parrell after appearing in every race this fall, including a personal best 8k at the Platte River Rumble. The team leadership award went to a trio of seniors in Thomas Leonard, Dan Weizeorick, and David Zeller.

Melvin “Bus” Shimek MVP honors for the women went to Lexi Keppler, who led MU in every race this fall. Gianna Konen earned most improved after setting a new personal best 6k time at the BIG EAST Championship.

Most outstanding freshman was Emma Coon, who appeared in every meet for MU including a personal best 6k at the Platte River Rumble. The team leadership award was given to Lexi Keppler, Gretchen Pfeiffer and Mikaela Sullivan.

Keep up with the Marquette men’s and women’s track and field programs through social media by following on X (@MUTFXC) and Instagram (@MUTFXC) and ‘liking’ on Facebook (/MUTFXC).



MVP – Mitchell Van Vooren

Most Improved – Simon Werven

Most Outstanding Newcomer – Gus Kasun

Senior Academic Award – Harry Baker


MVP – Daylee Braden and Annika Bynum

Most Improved – Veronica Walinski

Most Outstanding Newcomer – Natalia Jackowski

Senior Academic Award – Katie Dingle



Melvin “Bus” Shimek MVP – Dan Weizeorick

Comeback Runner of the Year – Tyler Re

Most Outstanding Freshman – Nick Parrell

Team Leadership Award – Thomas Leonard, Dan Weizeorick, David Zeller


Melvin “Bus” Shimek MVP – Lexi Keppler

Most Improved – Gianna Konen

Most Outstanding Freshman – Emma Coon

Team Leadership Award – Lexi Keppler, Gretchen Pfeiffer, Mikaela Sullivan


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *